How to Dismiss Your Speeding Ticket In Texas
Drivers have a large responsibility when it comes to keeping our roadways safe. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), more than 60 percent of drivers consider other drivers a major personal threat to their families and themselves. This statistic doesn’t just involve intoxicated drivers, but also includes drivers who are issued speeding tickets in Texas.
Next to driving distracted, speeding is the second leading cause of accidents in the nation. Additionally, speeding tickets are one of the most common types of tickets that are written in Texas and many other states across the nation. If you have received a speeding ticket in Texas, a Houston traffic ticket, or any other traffic citation in the state of Texas, you may be eligible to complete a defensive driving course to dismiss your violation. If you choose not to dismiss your traffic citation, your driving record could suffer!
The Texas Point System
Many people choose not to dismiss their speeding ticket in Texas or other Texas traffic citation, but doing so can severely hurt your driving record. Regardless if you received a Houston traffic ticket or a ticket in a different location in Texas, the Texas Point System remains the same and damages your driving record.
- Two points will be assigned to your Texas driving record if you receive a Texas violation or an out-of-state conviction and have a Texas driver’s license.
- Two points will be assigned to your Texas driving record if you rare convicted for an offense related to child safety seat.
- Three points will be assigned to your Texas driving record if you receive a Texas violation or an out-of-state conviction and have a Texas driver’s license and there was a car crash involved.
Additionally, if you do not clear your speeding ticket in Texas or other traffic violation not limited to but including a Houston traffic ticket, you will receive points on your driving record. If you receive six or more points on your driving record, you will be fined for every year you maintain six (6) or more points on your driver’s record. Here are the amounts you will be charged:
- $100 for the first six points you receive on your driving record.
- $25 for each additional point you acquire after the initial six.
If you would like to read more on the driver responsibility program, Click Here for additional information.
The best way to avoid having to pay these fines and to keep your driving record point-free is to take defensive driving to dismiss your speeding ticket in Texas or other traffic citation.
Taking Defensive Driving to Dismiss Your Traffic Citation
Once you have received your moving traffic violation, make sure with the court listed on your ticket that you are eligible to take a driver safety program. You can take a course online, in a classroom, or purchase a video. (For more information on defensive driving eligibility, Click Here) Once your eligibility has been confirmed, you must elect to take a driver safety course through the court. Notifying the court of your intention to take a defensive driving program will guarantee that your court will accept your certification following your completion of the defensive driving program. Once this information has been confirmed, you will be able to participate in a defensive driving course.
When you elect to take defensive driving through the courts, you are allotted 90 days to turn in your completion certificate. After you turn your certificate into the court, you will be able to prevent negative points from reaching your driving record. This will also keep your insurance provider from knowing that you received a citation, keeping your insurance rates low. When you receive you certificate in the mail, you will receive two copies: one for your insurance provider and one for the court. If you have not taken a driver safety class within the pass three (3) years for an insurance reduction, you may be able to receive a discount. (Click Here to learn more about receiving a discount on your auto insurance.)