Texas Defensive Driving Course Online
Many of us sit in a motor vehicle as either the passenger or the driver several times a day. What we do not expect to happen is to be involved in a car wreck or be pulled over by local law enforcement. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association(NHTSA), approximately 6,800,000 collisions occur on American roadways per year. When you do receive a traffic violation, the best option you have is to participate in a Texas online defensive driving program to help remove the ticket. A large amount of people have either taken a Texas driving safety course online or at least heard of it. If this is your first time, the process can seem confusing.
The Process of Taking a Texas Defensive Driving Course
You will be able to participate in a Texas driver safety course if:
- You are not currently participating in the course to dismiss another citation.
- You have not requested and taken a defensive driving program for a traffic offense within a 12 month period.
The first step in taking a Texas online defensive driving program is knowing if you are eligible or not. You will not be able to participate in a Texas defensive driving course if:
- You hold a commercial driver’s license.
- You were passing a school bus or cited in a construction zone.
- You were fleeing the scene of a collision.
- You were speeding 25 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit.
- You do not have insurance or if you have failed to maintain financial responsibility.
*If you have any questions regarding your eligibility, please contact your court for further information.
Once you are aware of your eligibility to take the driving course online, Texas requires that you take an approved Texas driver safety course. You MUST request permission to take a Texas defensive driving course for dismissal of your violation by the appearance date that is listed on your citation. If you fail to do so, but still participate in a defensive driving Texas online program, the court has the right to refuse your completion.
Once you are granted permission from your Texas court, you have 90 days to take your Texas online defensive driving program. Defensive driving Texas online courses are simple and easy to complete. Most courses allow you to:
- Take the course entirely from home.
- Log on at any time.
- Review the reading material as you are taking the quizzes and tests.
- 24/7 live phone support.
You might also need to obtain a copy of your driving record, which you may be able to do through your Texas driving safety course online provider. Showing proof of your certificate of completion and driving record must be submitted to the court before the due date on your citation.
Finishing the Driving Course Online Texas Program
When you have finished taking a driving course online Texas program, your completion certificate will be sent to you in the mail. Once you receive your certificate, you must take or mail the documents to your assigned court.
Keep your court due date in mind when signing up for a course. Ensure that your certificate is turned in on time, or you may not receive credit.